saditycents











{April 28, 2012}   New York! New York! — Part 3 — OPRAH!!!!!!

Oprah and I have been good friends for many years. Growing up my mother was addicted to the Oprah Winfrey Show. She got home from work everyday just in time to tune into Oprah. So rigorous was her Oprah schedule that friends would call the house and on more than one occasion hung up the phone apologetically upon realizing that they had called during the Oprah Winfrey hour!

Well, I put in for tickets to her Life Class Tour and WON!!! Woo Hoo! So who better to take to New York with me than my mother. We had so much fun. As you know by now I LOVE NYC and mommy had never been. Like I said, we have family right across the bridge and in all the years my mother has visited them, they never took her to NY! It’s crazy! Anyway, we had a blast.

Our Life Class was with Tony Robbins. Double Yay! My mother has been listening to his tapes for more than 20 years, so how perfect that we ended up at his taping with Oprah! (Sorry for all the exclamation marks– I have a professor from college who would be dying right now, but just writing about the experience gets me excited again LOL).

Oprah asked us to tweet the fear that is holding us back. I said that mine was that my critic would be right. Now that I put it out there it doesn’t feel as scary. So what, half of them don’t have their lives together either. It was a great two hours. Here are some pictures to commemorate a bucket list item completed.

This is the line that we had to wait in just to go into Oprah’s Life Class as ticket holders. These two girls in the right corner of my shot were such snobs. They thought they were special somehow. Luckily we didn’t have to deal with them for long. My mom and I made friends with the security guard and he let us stand at the front of the line with him. LOL!

Oprah getting mic’d. It was interesting to see the behind the scenes portion of the show. I am really into all the elements that go into making a show, so seeing the inner workings of a live show was a great experience.

Here are some shots of the show during taping. Sorry they are not better quality, but we could only bring in camera phones. The worst part is that we really weren’t that far back, it just looks like it. Sometimes I love my Iphone, other times… not so much.

My mother and I. Oprah bucket list item complete!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
