saditycents











{September 18, 2012}   On the Campaign Trail… I LOVE you Man!

The funny thing about committing your life to another individual’s success is that it is easy to forget that the ultimate goal is someone’s advancement not my own. What do I mean? Well, I am working on this campaign, last week I worked 91 hours in 7 days, I drove 446.8 miles covering my assigned region, and hosted 15 events.  With such a grueling schedule, it can be easy to lose sight of the ultimate goal and focus on your immediate busy schedule. So every now and then I have to remind myself, that I do this, not because I hate sleep, don’t like eating regularly, enjoy drinking more coffee than is probably healthy (that’s a lie I LOVE coffee especially Starbucks), or that I am just glutton for punishment. No, I do this because even as a little girl I wanted to make a difference in the world and I never want to be that person who rants and raves and does nothing… Even if that means sacrificing dearly for several months.

In addition, I have to remember that even though I spend a majority of my day with uncooperative people who like the idea of being a part of a major campaign (but not the work), I do have some people who, like me, just want to know that they didn’t stand on the sidelines, they did something. In particular, I have a doctor who comes over when he has breaks from patients, two elderly individuals who are determined to make those calls no matter how rude people are to them (especially my wonderful lady who has been a citizen for 20 plus years and still has to deal with her legitimacy being questioned), and a businessman who schedules his business meetings around the two hours he spends volunteering daily. These people get it and I love them for it! They remind me that this isn’t just a job, but hopefully my contribution to transforming society. Thank you… I love you man (and woman)!

P.S. Forgive the run on sentences, I’m sleep deprived.

For my elderly woman, who has been a faithful voting citizen for 20 years, and is shy on the phones. Don’t listen to those racists. Half of them will never bother to do more for their community than complain and then blame others for their failure (ironically that’s is what their candidate say about us LOL)….

This is what I want to say to you:

This is what I want to say to them:

Leave a Reply

et cetera
