saditycents











{July 14, 2014}   Vassault Park

Vassault Park: I’d never been to this park before but the neighborhood it’s located in is one of the more upscale neighborhoods in the area. I was excited because Vassault is reported to be one of largest neighborhood parks in the city. Vassault Park is also the site of the start/finish line of the annual Sound to Narrows run, which is a huge marathon that takes place each year. I was also excited because the park is on 17.56 acres; however, the trail around the park is just under 1/2 mile. So my plan was to run the perimeter of the park, and not stick to the trail. Small trails are always so disappointing to me because it makes the run seem that much longer, passing the same tree and bush over and over.

Well I didn’t have to worry about that. Instead, the City is replacing toxic soil (always a good thing) throughout much of the park, so most of it was fenced off (not such a good thing).

Vassault Park -  Fenced off

 

Thus I had to run around the neighborhood. It wasn’t too bad at all. The neighborhood is a little hilly which allowed for some great sunset views with peaks of Mt. Ranier. It turned out to be a nice run. I only went a little over 2 miles, because when I was circling back around the block I saw that the city security guard was locking my car into the park. According to the signage, the park closes 1/2 hour after sunset, yet the sun hadn’t even finished setting and the security guard was locking up. When I asked him about this he said the rule was dusk, not sunset… I think someone wanted to go home early 😉 Oh well it was still a nice Sunday run. As I was about to head toward my car, the security guard said, “You know someone vandalized you car… Yeah they put an Obama sticker on it.” :_ I laughed it off, but it did remind me of the time someone called me an “Obama Broad” as an insult. I said it then and I’ll say it again, “Damn right, I am an Obama Broad!” Back to running LOL!

My Run: 2.13 mi, 246 calories burned.

Here’s a picture of my view while running. Lovely, just lovely. Already I see the change in scenery is going to be a good thing.

P.S. This week I burned a total of 1,946 calories, my goal was 1,884!

Next Run: Ursich Park!

Vassault Park

Leave a Reply

et cetera
