saditycents











{July 22, 2014}   Meal Replacement Smoothies and Shakes

So many years ago, I took a summer and did Slim Fast. I lost a significant amount of weight (though I really wasn’t even overweight at the time) and kept it off for a couple years. However, in recent years I have tried and failed several times to repeat that initial success.  I can’t get past the taste or consistency, not to mention I am now lactose intolerant ( Although I eat dairy, having it every day, twice a day reeks havoc on my body).

However, I have been reading a good deal online about the benefits of meal replacement shakes and I have decided to give it a try for the next two weeks. If it seems like its working I will continue. I will have two shakes a day, plus a 500 calorie meal. My meal will probably end up being my lunch since I make my smoothies from scratch at home and I am usually at work or out of the house in the middle of the day. Today, I tried a variation on a peanut butter chocolate smoothie I found at Health NutNation.

I skipped the whey protein and just added nut spread. In hindsight I should have added only 2 tbsp of Dark Chocolate Almond Spread because of its high calorie content and another tablespoon of chia seeds for an added kick of protein and fiber.  A great meal replacement that kept me full for 4-5 hours. It was a little high in calories so I didn’t have one for lunch. Tomorrow I will add less almond spread and less tofu.

Chocolate Banana Meal Smoothie

Kale – 6 cups

Silken Tofu – 6 oz

Banana – 1 medium

PB2 – 2 tbsp

Almond Milk (Califa) – 1 cup

Dark Chocolate Almond Spread  (Maranatha) – 4 tbsp

Chia Seeds – 1 tbsp

Dark Chocolate Powder (Hershey’s) – 2 tbsp

Nutrition Facts
Servings 2.0
Amount Per Serving
Calories 465
% Daily Value *
Total Fat 23 g 35 %
Saturated Fat 3 g 17 %
Monounsaturated Fat 2 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 2 g
Trans Fat 0 g
Cholesterol 0 mg 0 %
Sodium 310 mg 13 %
Potassium 1132 mg 32 %
Total Carbohydrate 57 g 19 %
Dietary Fiber 13 g 52 %
Sugars 19 g
Protein 22 g 45 %
Vitamin A 624 %
Vitamin C 410 %
Calcium 64 %
Iron 42 %
* The Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet, so your values may change depending on your calorie needs. The values here may not be 100% accurate because the recipes have not been professionally evaluated nor have they been evaluated by the U.S. FDA.
Leave a Reply

et cetera
