saditycents











{September 13, 2015}   The Most Bestest Weekend Ever…. So Far

I have to say this last weekend was pretty amazing. My husband and I definitely needed it. While many brag about how fun South Korea is and all the benefits of being stationed here, what they sometimes over look is how stressful it can be. Being stationed in South Korea has unique challenges. For one you are technically still in a war zone and there is a layer of stress that never really goes away while you’re here. I had one seasoned wife say that Korea will either make your marriage or break your marriage. I didn’t understand until I started to see almost weekly postings on the local flea market Facebook page of spouses looking to sell large amounts of household goods quickly because they were unexpectedly moving back to the states early due to separation. I have my theories of why this occurs (long hours, tons of rules and regulations, always on call, too many bars, too many women), but the point is it occurs. And even if you aren’t on the brink of divorce just the fact that you, as the spouse, spend large amounts of time alone (welcome to military life in general) can add a layer of stress. For us there really hasn’t been too much tension but as a newlywed couple I wouldn’t mind seeing my husband more than the almost weekly schedule we’re on. I try to keep a brave face because, one, I have it better than many spouses who came here only to find that their service member was being sent to neighboring countries  for an undetermined amount of time, and two, I’ve used the time to develop my own adventures. Still sometimes you don’t realize how much you’ve missed someone until you are actually back with them. This week my husband had four days off resulting in a long weekend, yay! So far it’s been one of our best weekends yet. 

First, I’ve been taki cooking courses at the Airmen Family & Readiness Center. I fancy myself a pretty good cook but the spouse teaching the courses is a graduate of the Cordon Blue cooking school, so there’s always more to learn. I used our first night together to practice an Italian meal we made in class. The dish received reviews. 

Anti-pasta with bruschetta and grilled pineapples with mozzarella. I even bought a nice bottle of wine for the occasion. 

  
The next day we were up early to join the chapel on a trip to the seaside city of Busan. I highly recommend couples taking trips through the chapels on their bases. It really cuts the cost and it was nice to have travel and hotel arranged for us. We only spent one night in Busan but it was a really nice trip, I hope to go back soon. 

We followed up our trip to Busan with date night! We tried out a wine bar we’d been looking at for a while I  was a little disappointed in the food selection but not by the cocktails. It’s such a cute and cosy atmosphere but you should probably have dinner before hand. 

Afterwards we went to one of our favorite sushi restaurants where I tried the fabled drink soju. I enjoyed it but couldn’t finish the tall glass. Probably because it isn’t a dive bar, I didn’t find the drink as potent as some claim. Either that or I can really hold my liquor which is also true. 

Finally we finished the weekend up with a free bowling, the bowling alley on base offers free bowling during lunch. It was fun just to do something silly and carefree. 

It was a great weekend which ended with the great news that my husband’s schedule might be stabilizing soon and that he’ll actually get to sleep at home! Yay!

Sounds tough but you certainly sounds like you’re making the most of the situation. 🙂 I moved to Korea a little over two weeks ago. I’m loving it so far, but you can definitely feel the boundaries of what to do and what not to do between men and women.

Liked by 1 person



I absolutely agree. It’s definitely a bit of a culture shock.

Like



Leave a Reply

et cetera
