saditycents











{July 30, 2016}   The Key to Bargain Hunting Big Purchases

I love a good deal. Look at the name of my blog after all. And the best deals are on large purchases. When I can write about a shopping experience two weeks later and still feel like I got the best deal in town. Hubby and I were in desperate need of a mattress. Our household goods was somewhere sailing the seas from Korea and our household items that were left in storage had yet to be located. We bought an air mattress, but after the first night I knew that that was not the solution to our problems. I was willing to tough it out at first, but after about a week I realized two things: 1) I’m getting old, I used to be able to crash anywhere. 2) Our marriage was not going to survive long if we kept waking up sore and cranky. So we went mattress shopping. We got a great deal, during and after a large purchase I like to check the internet to confirm I truly do have Sadity Cents. I was determine to get high quality at a great price. After all my marriage depended on a good nights sleep. Here’s how I did it:

Start with the high end shop first. Find the mattress type you love. We went to a Sleep Number bed on a recent date night and fell in love with adjustable beds. I like the sleep number concept, but we walked out knowing we needed an adjustable base for our bed. Next we went a store that had a large variety of foam mattresses. My husband loved them, I could take or leave them. One of the benefits of our Sleep Number adventure was that I learned I truly enjoy a very firm mattress. My husband likes a soft mattress. What’s a couple to do? Meet in the middle. By the time we were ready to purchase we knew we wanted an adjustable base and a firm mattress with a foam top. I’d also been gathering prices at the two different stores. So the Saturday of our purchase we stopped at one store and found the mattress and base combo we wanted. I was ready to purchase, but my money saving rule is that I never make a large purchase on the spot. So we left to discuss it. In the mean time, we went to their main competitor. They are slightly more high end so we looked at their deals. They almost had us with an amazing all in one adjustable base, mattress and accessory deal. But I called the first store and told them that we were at the competitors and I told them what they were offering. The salesman matched their price, but with his mattress we got a warranty and a mattress cover to protect the warranty of the bed. I also had him throw in some foam pillows (best decision) I’d been admiring. So he got his sale, I got my mattress almost two hundred dollars cheaper than the great price he first quoted (which was $200 less than the sale price because of military discount) and some extras. It pays to comparison shop.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
