saditycents











{August 17, 2016}   Sadity Cents: Patio Set Find

It’s been awhile since I blogged about the topic that was the nexus of this site: Great deals at a steal! It isn’t that I haven’t found great deals, but I intended to help people find deals that they can replicate and most of mine I stumble upon or sweet talk my way into them. Still, I feel like fellow savers will enjoy hearing about my great finds. I think I’ve written about the fact that my husband and I are setting up house with one another for the first time. When we met, he was doing a tour overseas and I had a practice to take care of, so we spent a good deal apart with our own places. When we married and moved in together, we were stationed overseas. Many apartments, like ours, came furnished. So there wasn’t much we had to do. Now we are combining his stuff from two apartments (he left stuff in storage before going overseas), and my stuff from overseas. So finding furniture, getting rid of furniture, and organizing just a lot of stuff will probably be the them of many of my Sadity Cents posts.  

Its not just finding things cheaply, but also finding items that fit into my idea of classy and sophisticated. Thus Sadity Cents!

 I have always had champagne taste on beer money and often a fountain water budget. LOL.  Thus, my passion for finding great deals. You don’t always have to pay an arm and a leg for nice things. Thus, my latest find:

  


I’ve been wanting a patio set like this for some time. Most are propane, but I really wanted one that could host real wood and even charcoal. It wasn’t easy. But we did it. I saw this set at Albertson’s (of all places) a few weeks ago. Even further back , years ago, there was one at Kroger that I loved. I couldn’t justify the price as a graduate student. Fast forward to now, and I saw this set. I wanted it immediately, but again I couldn’t justify the price. Not because we couldn’t afford it. It’s just that I plan on completely replacing several rooms of furniture and I don’t want to spend a significant portion on patio furniture. Not to mention, I just have a slight allergic reaction to paying full price for big ticket items. I spent time searching for something similar or pieces I could put together to create my patio…Nothing. I found cute items, but they were so expensive or they weren’t exactly what I wanted. See my ideal was a real wood fire pit table that I could grill on. Items that matched that description costs around $2000 on the cheap side. Other fire pit tables were propane, so they were cute, but useless. And most fire pits didn’t have a real table element around the fire pit, rather they usually had a ledge where you could place small plates and glasses.

Then as luck would have it I stopped at Albertson’s on the way to buy another set. A set, I didn’t really love, but felt was “good enough.” I talked to the department head and they only had one set left, the display. Well, people have not because they ask not. I make it a practice to ask and walked away with my patio set $250 cheaper than its original price. The best part, because it was a display, it was already put together. Less work for me (and by me, I mean hubby)! It took three trips back to our new place since it didn’t come in the flat boxes, but worth it to me. For about $20, I found a camp fire grill to put over the top to grill food and the table I wanted came to fruition.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
