saditycents











{September 9, 2016}   Food for Thought: Sadity Cents Recipe Challenge

So it’s no secret hubby and I love to save money. We also love to eat really well, which means I find myself at the farmer’s market or grocery store several times a week looking for food inspiration or either we are at nice restaurant. Well recently we have begun saving for some very specific and life changing events we hope to happen in the future (more on this later) and that means while we’ve always budget, we actually need to stick to it now. Our food budget was the one area where I was more flexible than not.

As we are adjusting to American grocery shopping again, I am realizing we need to adjust our budget and our approach. No more are the days where I haggle with vendors to get a great deal. In America, the price is the price. With that said I spent this months grocery money in two weeks. Now could I just reallocate money, yes, without much trouble actually. But where’s the fun in that. I haven’t had a good challenge in a while so I decided to take what I have in the house and see how many meals I can make before I’m forced to go shopping again.

Here are some disclaimers and rules I set for myself:

There are only two of us and we are not heavy eaters,

My husband comes home for a sit down meal twice a day and eats a very light breakfast,

I bought a rotisserie chicken and frozen pizza before deciding to do this challenge in anticipation of some very work and school obligation days,

My husband and I hate random meals so these meals must be thought out prepared meals others might want to duplicate. So no tuna, crackers, and canned peaches. Lol.

My goal is to prepare 7 days of dinner for two people from the continents currently in the house.

I took pictures of our refrigerator and cabinets and have listed the contents below:

  • Rotisserie Chicken
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 packs of tuna
  • 3 packs dried fruit (craisins, banana, apricot)
  • 2 rum cakes (random I know)
  • Ground turkey
  • 2 yams
  • Pack of burger buns
  • 2 cans of diced tomatoes
  • Couple handfuls of spring mix greens
  • 1/4 cantaloupe
  • 1/4 of a pint of strawberries
  • Half a pack of blueberries

Here are the meals some of the meals we ate:


Are there any other amateur food bloggers out there who’d like to take the challenge?

Leave a Reply

et cetera
